Year of Promoting Responsible Industry and Climate Commitment
  Updated 17:41 VERSIÓN EN ESPAÑOL
Lima, Peru. Friday, July 25, 2014
Send Print ¿What are these icons? Mister Wong
17:20 Peruvian president swears in new prime minister
Lima, Mar. 19 (ANDINA). Peruvian President Alan Garcia sworn in Rosario Fernandez as the country's new prime minister at a ceremony held Saturday at the Government Palace in Lima.
Rosario Fernandez is sworn in as Peru
Rosario Fernandez is sworn in as Peru's Cabinet chief. Photo: ANDINA/Vidal Tarqui

Rosario del Pilar Fernandez Figueroa replaces former Cabinet chief Jose Antonio Chang Escobedo, who presented his resignation Friday for personal reasons.

Chang, who also served as education minister, was honored with Peru's Order of the Sun for his service to the country.

Fernandez Figueroa will remain as justice minister, while Victor Raul Diaz Chavez took oath as education minister at the same ceremony.

The other members of the Cabinet have kept their posts, including Jose Antonio Garcia Belaunde as foreign minister, Enrique Cornejo as transport and communications minister, Pedro Sanchez as energy and mines minister, and Eduardo Ferreyros as trade and tourism minister.

Also, Jaime Thorne as defense minister, Oscar Ugarte as health minister, Virginia Borra as women's and social development minister, Jorge Villasante as production minister, Ismael Benavides as finance minister, Manuela Garcia as labor and employment promotion minister, and Rafael Quevedo as agriculture minister.

Juan Sarmiento, Miguel Hidalgo, Antonio Brack and Juan Ossio also retained the housing, interior, environment and culture portfolios, respectively.


Date: 19/03/2011

Send Print ¿What are these icons? Mister Wong
General Manager: Rolando Vizarraga Robles
Executive Editor: Félix Paz Quiroz
© 2007 Peru News Agency. All Rights reserved.
Av. Alfonso Ugarte 873 Lima 1. Telephone: (51-1) 315 0400 Fax: 431 2849. E-Mail: